Sword and the Shield: The Mitrokhin Archive and the Secret History of the KGB

Sword and the Shield: The Mitrokhin Archive and the Secret History of the KGB

  Play Sample   Get Free Audio Book
Written By: Christopher Andrew       
Vasili Mitrokhin       
Narrated By: Charles Stransky
Date: 22 February 2000
Duration: 06:29:00

| Genres

History World

| Summary

As chief archivist of the KGB's foreign branch, Vasili Mitrokhin had virtually unfettered access to its most closely held secrets. But his government's relentless repression of dissidents at home and abroad and its bungled Afghan war policy disillusioned him. Determined to preserve the truth, Mitrokhin secretly compiled a detailed record of the feared agency's operations abroad.

Written with historian Christopher Andrew and backed with meticulous supporting research, what emerges is a chilling chronicle of murder and treachery, slander and corruption, paranoia and purges. KGB placed agents high within British intelligence agencies and American defense contractors; yet they failed to discredit Martin Luther King, Jr., J. Edgar Hoover, Senator Scoop Jackson or President Ronald Reagan. And their massive information gathering brought them no international advantages; to the end Soviet officials remained baffled by the West. The Sword and the Shield is a compelling, and historically significant, narrative destined to cast new light on the Soviet era.

| Author

Christopher Andrew

Christopher Andrew may refer to:

Christopher Andrew (historian) (born 1941), Cambridge University historian

Rob Andrew (born 1963), Christopher Robert "Rob" Andrew, English rugby union player

| Books by Christopher Andrew

| Author

Vasili Mitrokhin

Vasili Nikitich Mitrokhin (Russian: Васи́лий Ники́тич Митро́хин; March 3, 1922 – January 23, 2004) was a major and senior archivist for the Soviet Union's foreign intelligence service, the First Chief Directorate of the KGB, who defected to the United Kingdom in 1992 after providing the British embassy in Riga with a vast collection of KGB files, which became known as the Mitrokhin Archive. The intelligence files given by Mitrokhin to the MI6 exposed an unknown number of Russian agents, including Melita Norwood.

He was co-author with Christopher Andrew of The Mitrokhin Archive: The KGB in Europe and the West, a massive account of Soviet intelligence operations based on copies of material from the archive. The second volume, The Mitrokhin Archive II: The KGB in the World, was published in 2005, soon after Mitrokhin's death.