Genres

Audio Books

in History

  • Confessions of an Economic Hit Man

    Confessions of an Economic Hit Man

    Genre: History,World
    Author: John Perkins
    Duration: 09:19:00

    John Perkins was an economic hit man. His job was to convince countries around the globe to accept enormous loans that they could not pay back. His true story exposes international intrigue, corruption, and little-known government and corporate activities. ... [ more ]

  • Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil Money & Power the Battery for World Mastery

    Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil Money & Power the Battery for World Mastery

    Genre: History,Politics,North American,United States
    Author: Daniel Yergin
    Duration: 02:53:00

    The Prize recounts the panoramic history of oil--and the struggle for wealth and power that has always surrounded oil. This struggle has shaken the world economy, dictated the outcome of wars, and transformed the destiny of men and nations. The Prize is as much a history of the twentieth century as ... [ more ]

  • Book of Five Rings

    Book of Five Rings

    Genre: History,Sports,Philosophy,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Musashi Miyamoto
    Duration: 02:42:00

    Setting down his thoughts on swordplay, on winning, and on spirituality, legendary swordsman Miyamoto Musashi intended this modest work as a guide for his immediate disciples and future generations of samurai. He had little idea he was penning a masterpiece that would be eagerly devoured by people i ... [ more ]

  • Swerve: How the World Became Modern

    Swerve: How the World Became Modern

    Genre: Science & Technology,History & Philosophy
    Author: Stephen Greenblatt
    Duration: 09:44:00

    Renowned historian Stephen Greenblatt's works shoot to the top of the New York Times best-seller list. With The Swerve, Greenblatt transports listeners to the dawn of the Renaissance and chronicles the life of an intrepid book lover who rescued the Roman philosophical text On the Nature of Things fr ... [ more ]

  • Live from New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live

    Live from New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live

    Genre: TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History,TV & Radio,History
    Author: Tom Shales, James Andrew Miller
    Duration: 08:39:00

    Saturday Night Live changed the face of television: it introduced brash new stars, trashed TV taboos, and had an impact on American life, laughter, and politics. Dozens of stars, writers, guest hosts, contributors, and craftsmen (as read by professional narrators) recall the backstage stories, ... [ more ]

  • Legend: A Harrowing Story from the Vietnam War of One Green Beret's Heroic Mission to Rescue a Special Forces Team Caught Behind Enemy Lines

    Legend: A Harrowing Story from the Vietnam War of One Green Beret's Heroic Mission to Rescue a Special Forces Team Caught Behind Enemy Lines

    Genre: History,Military
    Author: Eric Blehm
    Duration: 09:11:00

    The unforgettable account and courageous actions of the U.S. Army’s 240th Assault Helicopter Company and Green Beret Staff Sergeant Roy Benavidez, who risked everything to rescue a Special Forces team trapped behind enemy lines. In Legend, acclaimed bestselling author Eric Blehm takes as his c ... [ more ]

  • Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan, and bin Laden, from the Soviet Invasion to September 10, 2001

    Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan, and bin Laden, from the Soviet Invasion to September 10, 2001

    Genre: Politics,History
    Author: Steve Coll
    Duration: 26:51:00

    The explosive first-hand account of America's secret history in Afghanistan With the publication of Ghost Wars, Steve Coll became not only a Pulitzer Prize winner, but also the expert on the rise of the Taliban, the emergence of Bin Laden, and the secret efforts by CIA officers and their agents to c ... [ more ]

  • Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism

    Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism

    Genre: History,North American
    Author: Edward E. Baptist
    Duration: 19:50:00

    In The Half Has Never Been Told, historian Edward E. Baptist reveals the alarming extent to which slavery shaped our country politically, morally, and most of all, economically. Until the Civil War, our chief form of innovation was slavery. Through forced migration and torture, slave owners extracte ... [ more ]

  • American Creation

    American Creation

    Genre: History,Biographies
    Author: Joseph J. Ellis
    Duration: 10:59:00

    From the first shots fired at Lexington to the signing of the Declaration of Independence to the negotiations for the Louisiana Purchase, Joseph J. Ellis guides us through the decisive issues of the nation's founding, and illuminates the emerging philosophies, shifting alliances, and personal and po ... [ more ]

  • History Is Wrong

    History Is Wrong

    Genre: History,Ancient Civilizations
    Author: Erich Von Daniken
    Duration: 06:14:00

    Erich von Däniken again shows his flair for revealing truths that his contemporaries have missed. After closely analyzing hundreds of ancient and apparently unrelated texts, he is now ready to proclaim that human history is nothing like the world religions claim—and he has the proof! In History ... [ more ]

  • Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression

    Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression

    Genre: History,North American
    Author: Amity Shlaes
    Duration: 14:35:15

    It's difficult today to imagine how America survived the Great Depression. Only through the stories of the common people who struggled during that era can we really understand how the nation endured. In The Forgotten Man, Amity Shlaes offers a striking reinterpretation of the Great Depression. Rej ... [ more ]

  • Icarus Syndrome: A History of American Hubris

    Icarus Syndrome: A History of American Hubris

    Genre: History,World
    Author: Peter Beinart
    Duration: 18:27:00

    In The Icarus Syndrome, Peter Beinart tells a tale as old as the Greeks -- a story about the seductions of success. Beinart describes Washington on the eve of three wars -- World War One, Vietnam, and Iraq -- three moments when American leaders decided they could remake the world in their image. Eac ... [ more ]

  • 1434: The Year a Magnificent Chinese Fleet Sailed to Italy and Ignited the Renaissance

    1434: The Year a Magnificent Chinese Fleet Sailed to Italy and Ignited the Renaissance

    Genre: History,European,Asia
    Author: Gavin Menzies
    Duration: 09:55:00

    The brilliance of the Renaissance laid the foundation of the modern world. Textbooks tell us that it came about as a result of a rediscovery of the ideas and ideals of classical Greece and Rome. But now bestselling historian Gavin Menzies makes the startling argument that in the year 1434, China, th ... [ more ]

  • United States of Beer: A Freewheeling History of the All-American Drink

    United States of Beer: A Freewheeling History of the All-American Drink

    Genre: History,North American
    Author: Dane Huckelbridge
    Duration: 06:47:59

    From the author of Bourbon, the definitive history (Sacramento Bee), comes the rollicking and revealing story of beer in America, in the spirit of Salt or Cod. In The United States of Beer, Dane Huckelbridge, the author of Bourbon: A History of the American Spirit-a Southern Independent Booksel ... [ more ]

  • King Peggy

    King Peggy

    Genre: History,Africa,History,Africa
    Author: Peggielene Bartels
    Duration: 14:14:00

    The charming real-life fairy tale of an American secretary who discovers she has been chosen king of an impoverished fishing village on the west coast of Africa. King Peggy has the sweetness and quirkiness of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series and the hopeful sense of possibility of Half the ... [ more ]

  • Most Human Human

    Most Human Human

    Genre: Science & Technology,History & Philosophy
    Author: Brian Christian
    Duration: 09:37:00

    The Most Human Human is a provocative, exuberant, and profound exploration of the ways in which computers are reshaping our ideas of what it means to be human. Its starting point is the annual Turing Test, which pits artificial intelligence programs against people to determine if computers can think ... [ more ]

  • Hidden History of America at War: Untold Tales from Yorktown to Fallujah

    Hidden History of America at War: Untold Tales from Yorktown to Fallujah

    Genre: History,Military,History,Military,History,Military,History,Military
    Author: Kenneth C. Davis
    Duration: 12:45:00

    Multi-million-copy bestselling historian Kenneth C. Davis sets his sights on war stories in The Hidden History of America at War. In prose that will remind you of the best teacher you ever had (People Magazine), Davis brings to life six emblematic battles, revealing untold tales that span our nation ... [ more ]

  • Mirror Test

    Mirror Test

    Genre: History,Military
    Author: J. Kael Weston
    Duration: 22:25:49

    A New York Times Editors' ChoiceA powerfully written firsthand account of the human costs of conflict.J. Kael Weston spent seven years on the ground in Iraq and Afghanistan working for the U.S. State Department in some of the most dangerous frontline locations. Upon his return home, while traveling ... [ more ]

  • Gallery

    Gallery

    Genre: History,Mystery & Thriller,Classic Detectives
    Author: Laura Marx Fitzgerald
    Duration: 06:52:18

    A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties! It’s 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimming ... [ more ]

  • Internet of Us: Knowing More and Understanding Less in the Age of Big Data

    Internet of Us: Knowing More and Understanding Less in the Age of Big Data

    Genre: Science & Technology,History & Philosophy
    Author: Michael P. Lynch
    Duration: 06:32:20

    We used to say 'seeing is believing'; now googling is believing. With 24/7 access to nearly all of the world's information at our fingertips, we no longer trek to the library or the encyclopedia shelf in search of answers. We just open our browsers, type in a few keywords and wait for the informatio ... [ more ]