Genres

Audio Books

in Sports & Recreation

  • History of the World Cup

    History of the World Cup

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation,Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Brian Glanville
    Duration: 05:02:00

    This lively history of the world's greatest sporting event outside the Olympics is told by veteran football journalist and historian Brian Glanville, and read by the former Arsenal goalkeeper Bob Wilson. There is a full account of each of the Finals since the first event in 1922 - the goals, the con ... [ more ]

  • Endurance Coach Meditation: Meditation For Sports Performance

    Endurance Coach Meditation: Meditation For Sports Performance

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Benjamin P. Bonetti
    Duration: 00:49:53

    Endurance Coach Meditation.... meditation for serious athletes... When the rush of adrenaline is interpreted as anxiety, and negative thoughts begin to swirl, anxiety can have devastating effect on your ability to perform as an athlete. Meditation has proven to enhance both performance and the abi ... [ more ]

  • Wheelmen: Lance Armstrong, the Tour de France, and the Greatest Sports Conspiracy Ever

    Wheelmen: Lance Armstrong, the Tour de France, and the Greatest Sports Conspiracy Ever

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Reed Albergotti, Vanessa O'Connell
    Duration: 12:24:00

    The first in-depth look at Lance Armstrong's doping scandal, the phenomenal business success built on the back of fraud, and the greatest conspiracy in the history of sports Lance Armstrong won a record-smashing seven Tours de France after staring down cancer, and in the process became an inter ... [ more ]

  • Dark Summit: The True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season

    Dark Summit: The True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Nick Heil
    Duration: 08:37:00

    In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air, Nick Heil recounts the harrowing story of the deadly and controversial 2006 climbing season on Mount Everest. ... [ more ]

  • Best in the World: At What I Have No Idea

    Best in the World: At What I Have No Idea

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Memoir,Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Memoir
    Author: Chris Jericho, Peter Thomas Fornatale
    Duration: 11:57:00

    World Wrestling Entertainment has named Chris Jericho one of the top ten wrestlers—and one of the top five talkers—of all time. Certainly, the past six years have been spectacular for Jericho. After a sluggish return from his 2005 sabbatical, Jericho found new inspiration in watching No Country for ... [ more ]

  • Climb: Stories of Survival from Rock, Snow and Ice

    Climb: Stories of Survival from Rock, Snow and Ice

    Genre: Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Clint Willis
    Duration: 05:13:00

    Year after year climbers return to the world's most difficult mountains, where even the best are vulnerable to mistakes, bad weather and bad luck. Climb offers harrowing accounts of extreme mountaineering and its sometimes fatal consequences. ... [ more ]

  • Clemente: The Passion and Grace of Baseball's Last Hero

    Clemente: The Passion and Grace of Baseball's Last Hero

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: David Maraniss
    Duration: 05:47:00

    On New Year's Eve 1972, following eighteen magnificent seasons in the major leagues, Roberto Clemente died a hero's death, killed in a plane crash as he attempted to deliver food and medical supplies to Nicaragua after a devastating earthquake. David Maraniss now brings the great baseball player bri ... [ more ]

  • Shaq Uncut: My Story

    Shaq Uncut: My Story

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Shaquille O'Neal, Jackie MacMullan
    Duration: 08:40:00

    Superman. Diesel. The Big Aristotle. Shaq Fu. The Big Daddy. The Big Shaqtus. Wilt Chamberneezy. The Real Deal. The Big Shamrock. Shaq. You know him by any number of names, and chances are you know all about his legendary basketball career: Shaquille Shaq O'Neal is a four-time NBA champion and ... [ more ]

  • King of the World

    King of the World

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: David Remnick
    Duration: 06:01:00

    There had been mythic sports figures before Cassius Clay, but when he burst upon the sports scene in the 1950s, he broke the mold. Those were the years when boxing and boxers were at the mercy of the mob and the whim of the sportswriters. If you wanted a shot at a title, you did it their way. Young ... [ more ]

  • Straight Flush: The True Story of Six College Friends Who Dealt Their Way to a Billion-Dollar Online Poker Empire--and How it All Came Crashing Down…

    Straight Flush: The True Story of Six College Friends Who Dealt Their Way to a Billion-Dollar Online Poker Empire--and How it All Came Crashing Down…

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Ben Mezrich
    Duration: 07:10:00

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Accidental Billionaires and Bringing Down the House—the sources for the films The Social Network and 21— comes the larger-than-life true tale of a group of American college buddies who brilliantly built a billion-dollar online poker colossus based ou ... [ more ]

  • Sacred Hoops: Spiritual Lessons Of A Hardwood Warrior

    Sacred Hoops: Spiritual Lessons Of A Hardwood Warrior

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation,Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Phil Jackson, Hugh Delehanty
    Duration: 01:53:00

    Not only is there more to life than basketball, there's a lot more to basketball than basketball. -- Phil Jackson One of the most successful coaches in NBA history, Chicago Bulls head coach Phil Jackson provides an inside look at the higher wisdom of teamwork with Sacred Hoops -- Jackson's phil ... [ more ]

  • Woodlawn

    Woodlawn

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Football,Historical,Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Football,Historical
    Author: Mark Schlabach, Todd Gerelds
    Duration: 06:16:00

    This riveting true story of courage, strength, and football at the height of racial tension in Birmingham, Alabama, inspired the motion picture Woodlawn, and tells the story of Coach Tandy Gerelds, his running back Tony Nathan, and a high school football game that healed a city. Woodlawn is soon to ... [ more ]

  • Losing Isn't Everything: The Untold Stories and Hidden Lessons Behind the Toughest Losses in Sports History

    Losing Isn't Everything: The Untold Stories and Hidden Lessons Behind the Toughest Losses in Sports History

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation,Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Michael Arkush, Curt Menefee
    Duration: 08:34:00

    A refreshing and thought-provoking look at athletes whose legacies have been reduced to one defining moment of defeat-those on the flip side of an epic triumph-and what their experiences can teach us about competition, life, and the human spirit. Every sports fan recalls with amazing accuracy a ... [ more ]

  • How To Watch Football

    How To Watch Football

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Ruud Gullit
    Duration: 07:39:37

    Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable, audiobook edition of How to Watch Football by Ruud Gullit, read by Adam James. How can one striker be better than three? Why do the best defenders never need to make a tackle? What's the secret of Tiki-taka? Welcome to Ruud Gullit's masterclass on how ... [ more ]

  • I May Be Wrong But I Doubt It

    I May Be Wrong But I Doubt It

    Genre: Sports,Comedy,Satire & Parody,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Charles Barkley
    Duration: 02:10:00

    If there's one thing Charles Barkley knows, it's the crying need for honest, open discussion in this country-the more uncomfortable the subject, the more necessary the dialogue. And if the discussion leader can be as wise, irreverent, (occasionally) profane and (consistently) funny as Charles Barkle ... [ more ]

  • Ted Williams: The Biography of an American Hero

    Ted Williams: The Biography of an American Hero

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Leigh Montville
    Duration: 06:00:00

    He was The Kid. The Splendid Splinter. Teddy Ballgame. One of the greatest figures of his generation, and arguably the greatest baseball hitter of all time. But what made Ted Williams a legend - and a lightning rod for controversy in life and in death? What motivated him to interrupt his Hall of Fam ... [ more ]

  • Bat Boy: My True Life Adventures Coming of Age with the New York Yankees

    Bat Boy: My True Life Adventures Coming of Age with the New York Yankees

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Matthew McGough
    Duration: 04:10:00

    Sixteen-year-old Matthew McGough was a fairly typical teenager, obsessed with getting through high school, girls, and baseball, not necessarily in that order. His passion for the New York Yankees was absolute, complete with a poster of his hero, Yankees first baseman Don Mattingly, hanging on his be ... [ more ]

  • Climbing Everest: The Writings of George Mallory

    Climbing Everest: The Writings of George Mallory

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: George Mallory
    Duration: 06:00:00

    George Mallory's collected writings on his mountaineering - and his motivations. Famously impelled to climb Mount Everest simply because it was there, Mallory made three attempts to be the first to reach its summit, and perished on the third. His writing reveals the emotional life of the mountaineer ... [ more ]

  • Standing Tall: A Memoir of Tragedy and Triumph

    Standing Tall: A Memoir of Tragedy and Triumph

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: C. Vivian Stringer
    Duration: 10:19:00

    Work hard, and don't look for excuses, C. Vivian Stringer's parents told her, and you can achieve anything. But her faith and perseverance would be tested many times. A gifted athlete, she had to fight for a place on an all-white cheerleading squad in the sixties. In 1981, just as her coaching caree ... [ more ]

  • Bubba Talks

    Bubba Talks

    Genre: Biographies,NonFiction,Comedy,Sports & Recreation,Essays & Memoirs,Entertainment
    Author: Dan Jenkins
    Duration: 01:52:00

    One of America's most acclaimed sportswriters, Dan Jenkins has won countless fans with his bawdy sense of humor. Bubba Talks is a series of reflections from the quintessential American redneck'a lover of hot ladies, football, cheeseburgers, and Firebirds. ... [ more ]