Genres

Audio Books

in Sports & Recreation

  • Yankee Years

    Yankee Years

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Joe Torre, Tom Verducci
    Duration: 08:50:00

    Twelve straight playoff appearances. Six American League pennants. Four World Series titles. This is the definitive story of a dynasty: the Yankee years When Joe Torre took over as manager of the New York Yankees in 1996, the most storied franchise in sports had not won a World Series title in ... [ more ]

  • Lucky Bastard

    Lucky Bastard

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Joe Buck
    Duration: 06:55:49

    Sports fans see Joe Buck everywhere: broadcasting one of the biggest games in the NFL every week, calling the World Series every year, announcing the Super Bowl every three years. They know his father, Jack Buck, is a broadcasting legend and that he was beloved in his adopted hometown of St. Louis. ... [ more ]

  • Sum It Up

    Sum It Up

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Sally Jenkins, Pat Head Summitt
    Duration: 13:30:29

    Pat Summitt, the all-time winningest coach in NCAA basketball history aad bestselling author of Reach for the Summitt and Raise The Roof, tells for the first time her remarkable story of victory and resilience as well as facing down her greatest challenge: early-onset Alzheimer's disease. Pat S ... [ more ]

  • Forever on the Mountain

    Forever on the Mountain

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: James M. Tabor
    Duration: 15:55:00

    In the summer of 1967, an Arctic hurricane trapped seven veteran climbers, members of Joe Wilcox's twelve-man expedition, at 20,000 feet on Alaska's Mount McKinley. Ten days passed while the storm raged. Despite the availability of massive resources, no rescue was mounted, and all seven men died. Th ... [ more ]

  • Playing for Keeps: Michael Jordan and the World He Made

    Playing for Keeps: Michael Jordan and the World He Made

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: David Halberstam
    Duration: 20:29:00

    Michael Jordan is more than a great basketball player, he is a cultural phenomenon. This remarkable book by a Pulitzer Prize-winning writer offers human drama and penetrating insights into professional athletics. It helps you understand Jordan's epic career in the context of the new world of sports, ... [ more ]

  • Will to Climb

    Will to Climb

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Ed Viesturs
    Duration: 10:44:00

    The bestselling author of No Shortcuts to the Top and K2 chronicles his three attempts to climb the world's tenth-highest and statistically deadliest peak, Annapurna in the Himalaya, while exploring the dramatic and tragic history of others who have made -- or attempted – the ascent, and what ... [ more ]

  • A Life Well Played: My Stories

    A Life Well Played: My Stories

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Arnold Palmer
    Duration: 05:40:00

    Read by Rich Lerner of the Golf Channel, with an introduction read by Arnold Palmer. No one has won more fans around the world and no player has had a bigger impact on the sport of golf than Arnold Palmer. In fact, Palmer is considered by many to be the most important golfer in history. A ... [ more ]

  • Crazy for the Storm

    Crazy for the Storm

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Norman Ollestad
    Duration: 07:41:00

    Dad Said Olestad, we can do i t all. . . . Why do you make me do this? Because it's beautiful when it all comes together. I don't think it's ever beautiful. One day. Never. We'll see, my father said. Vamanos. From the age of three, Norman Ollestad was ... [ more ]

  • Running with the Kenyans

    Running with the Kenyans

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Adharanand Finn
    Duration: 08:09:00

    A dusty road stretches into the distance like a pencil line across the arid landscape. Lions, rhino, and buffalo roam the plains on either side. But I haven't come to Kenya to spot wildlife. I've come to run. Whether running is your recreation, your religion, or just a spectator sport, Adharan ... [ more ]

  • Got to Give the People What They Want: True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court

    Got to Give the People What They Want: True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Jalen Rose
    Duration: 09:32:00

    I want to start conversations, and even better, arguments. - From the Introduction One of the most outspoken and original voices in sports sounds off while revealing his incredible life story. Jalen Rose has never been quiet. Not as a kid growing up in Detroit in the 70s and 80s. Not as the b ... [ more ]

  • Basketball Junkie: A Memoir

    Basketball Junkie: A Memoir

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Chris Herren, Bill Reynolds
    Duration: 06:36:00

    A powerful, dramatic memoir of basketball star Chris Herren's rise to fame, struggle with addiction, and path back to life. ... [ more ]

  • Finding Ultra: Rejecting Middle Age, Becoming One of the World's Fittest Men, and Discovering Myself

    Finding Ultra: Rejecting Middle Age, Becoming One of the World's Fittest Men, and Discovering Myself

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Rich Roll
    Duration: 09:50:00

    An incredible but true account of achieving one of the most awe-inspiring midlife physical transformations ever. In October 2006, the night before he was to turn forty, Rich experienced a chilling glimpse of his future. Nearly fifty pounds overweight and unable to climb the stairs without stopp ... [ more ]

  • QB

    QB

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Steve Young
    Duration: 12:55:00

    STEVE YOUNG produced some of the most memorable moments in NFL history. The Run-his electrifying 49-yard game-winning touchdown against Minnesota. The Catch II-his last-second touchdown strike to Terrell Owens to beat Green Bay in the playoffs. Then there were his record-setting six touchdown passes ... [ more ]

  • My Losing Season

    My Losing Season

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Pat Conroy
    Duration: 13:52:33

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A deeply affecting coming-of-age memoir about family, love, loss, basketball—and life itself—by the beloved author of The Prince of Tides and The Great Santini During one unforgettable season as a Citadel cadet, Pat Conroy becomes part of a basketball ... [ more ]

  • Queen of Katwe: A Story of Life, Chess, and One Extraordinary Girl

    Queen of Katwe: A Story of Life, Chess, and One Extraordinary Girl

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Tim Crothers
    Duration: 07:41:00

    Based on a popular ESPN Magazine article-optioned by Disney films, a finalist for a National Magazine Award and chosen by Dave Eggers for inclusion in Best American Nonrequired Reading 2011-the astonishing true story of Phiona Mutesi, a teenager from the slums of Kampala, Uganda, who-inspired by an ... [ more ]

  • Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

    Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

    Genre: Biographies,Sports & Recreation
    Author: Daniel James Brown
    Duration: 14:27:00

    The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race.For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the ... [ more ]

  • Augusta

    Augusta

    Genre: Sports,Biographies,Sports & Recreation,Golf
    Author: Steve Eubanks
    Duration: 08:00:00

    The Augusta National Golf Club, home of the prestigious Masters Tournament, is an American icon shrouded in intrigue. Behind the wondrous scenes and memorable tournament play resides a secretive and exclusive clan, marked with scandal and invested with the social power to make or break a man's rise ... [ more ]

  • Busting Vegas: The Mit Whiz Kid Who Brought The Casinos To Their Knees

    Busting Vegas: The Mit Whiz Kid Who Brought The Casinos To Their Knees

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Ben Mezrich
    Duration: 05:37:00

    Semyon Dukach was known as the darling of Las Vegas. A legend at twenty-one, this cocky hotshot was the biggest high roller to appear in Sin City in decades, a mathematical genius with a system the casinos had never seen before and couldn't stop -- a system that had nothing to do with card counting, ... [ more ]

  • It's How You Play the Game and The Games Do Count: The Powerful Sports Moments That Taught Lasting Values to America's Finest

    It's How You Play the Game and The Games Do Count: The Powerful Sports Moments That Taught Lasting Values to America's Finest

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Brian Kilmeade
    Duration: 04:37:00

    Surprising, entertaining, and always imparting an important life lesson, It's How You Play the Game features anecdotes and vignettes that are sure to benefit any reader. As Brian Kilmeade writes, Regardless of who you are, what sport you chose, or how much success you achieved, playing the game is a ... [ more ]

  • Dangerous Book for Boys

    Dangerous Book for Boys

    Genre: Sports,Other Sports & Recreation,Sports,Other Sports & Recreation
    Author: Conn Iggulden, Hal Iggulden
    Duration: 03:52:00

    Recapture Sunday afternoons and long summer days. This is a wonderful collection of all things that make being young, or young at heart, fun. Audio includes: -Questions About the World -How to Play Stickball -The Rules of Soccer -Fishing -Famous Battles -Extraordinary Stories ... [ more ]